scriptsnomad.blogg.se

Lacie external hard drive problem
Lacie external hard drive problem












If you want a great little drive to store your files, jump for the LaCie 500 GB USB drive before it’s gone. But I don’t think this drive can be found on the market any more, and besides, why go for 250 GB when you can get 500 GB for $120? The only other drive that compares to it in terms of how little noise it makes is the LaCie 250 GB external hard drive, which I also own. Instead of a cooling fan, the drive cools via a grille built into its bottom. I love the simple, unassuming, but very efficient design. Again, no annoying and loud cooling vents, just the adapter and USB ports. These are all the cables you’ll need with the drive. Not on this drive! I love that! It only has a simple, unassuming cable, and that does wonders when it comes to cable management and keeping the underside of my desk neat. You know what I’m talking about, right? It’s that big, heavy annoying power adapter that sits in the middle, between the part you plug in the outlet and the part that plugs into the drive. What’s also REALLY nice about it is that it doesn’t have a power brick. It’s so quiet, I can’t even hear it, unless it’s being actively accessed, and even then, it’s pretty quiet. C’mon, 500 GB for $120? Sign me up! On top of all that, it’s whisper quiet! My big complaint with a previous 500 GB LaCie drive that I owned was the noise it made. Buy.com, where I purchased two of them, no longer has it in stock.

lacie external hard drive problem lacie external hard drive problem

This unassuming little black drive is a great product and a great buy at only $120 for 500 GB.

lacie external hard drive problem

My message is, get them while you can, or spring for the 1TB external drives. Keep in mind that the manufacturer has to strike a balance between the cost of the drive and the cost of the enclosure, and while 500GB drives are bargains now, it will soon become impractical to manufacture them at the large scale needed for low price points, because the 1TB drives will become the new commodity hard drive. This means that if you’re looking for an external 500 GB drive, it should cost you somewhere between $79-89. I think that price point is a little high given that 1TB drives have become affordable, and bare 1TB drives only cost $110-130. ➡ Updated 11/3/08: I’ve seen renewed traffic to this post, and wanted to let you know that at this point the drive retails for $99.














Lacie external hard drive problem